When you register a domain (gTLD) or transfer it to another registrar (usually your web hosting provider), the domain will be locked for 60 days. During this period the domain cannot be transferred. This is also true when you get a Premium Domain Name.
It is part of the transfer policy from ICANN and applies to all registrars. No one is unable to remove the lock or make any exceptions.
Changes in the owner details
When you change the registrant name, company or email address of a domain in the WHOIS, by default the domain will also be locked for 60 days.
In this case it is possible to opt out of the lock. You can select this during the owner change procedure. It is not possible to opt out, after the change has been processed.